Is it possible to slow the monitor rate?

I'm making a silly little mess of a device for rental karting. A little magnetic doodad you can shove on the wheel that displays your current speed or lap_delta, and log to an sd-card as a backup.(or if you just want speed and wanna check laps later).

I was using aollin's examples on a Seeed NRF52840 and merged both of the examples together with an SD card reader.
Everything was working perfectly until i added one of these little 1106 oled displays, my gps rate drops randomly to 1hz. I noticed dropping the number of monitor channels fixed a lot of these issues but not entirely. Same with stripping every GPS message, and only sending GGA every 10packets. Is it possible to slightly reduce the rate at which messages are sent back to the device for the monitor portion?

On the otherhand i've never used one of these oleds before, is there a faster library than the adafruit one (i only need text)? Can i do a "partial refresh" instead of clearing the display every time?

Comments

• At the moment it's not possible. Do you have the GPS built-in to the same device? And using the DIY protocol for the GPS too?
  • edited March 2023

To actually answer your question, I'm using the example code this person proved as a base as that was insanely helpful. I'm using the race Chrono diy GPS AND Monitor functionality (but not can)

https://github.com/aollin/racechrono-ble-diy-device

This certainly ended up being a mostly me issue. I'm really pushing the chip I chose, the seeed nrf52840.

Basically here's a dev note for any other devs.

So I'm trying to do... Too much. (RaceChrono gps and monitor, and SD logger)

I wanted to log to an sdcard as a backup if I didn't want to use my phone during a kart race (rental league).