G force data

hi Guys,
I am a RC pro android user and i have the below questions:
- How does racechrono pro app extract g force data, is it from the phone or the external GPS?
- if i have a value of 0,85 of Air Fuel ratio, what does that mean?

ocen

Comments

• - The "lateral acceleration" and "longitudinal acceleration" are calculated values from GPS data

- This is equivalence ratio: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Air–fuel_ratio#Air–fuel_equivalence_ratio_(%CE%BB) . There is also a channel for the "normal" gasoline Air/Fuel ration in graphs which is around 14.7.
  • Thank you.
    Can i say the position and placement of the phone does not affect Long/Lat values?
  • Yes, you can say that. But the GPS data needs to be good quality for the lateral and longitudinal accelerations to be trustworthy.
  • Thank You so much
  • I have an interest in only the forward acceleration. Can I get the G-force values from the log files?
  • @DonC look at the longitudinal acceleration (which is calculated from GPS data). Should be pretty accurate as long as your GPS is.
  • edited November 2018
    Unfortunately, I lost or delete the sessions on my tablet. I will need to record a est session to look at the log. Which file has the G force data? I will be testin on a straight "track" or road.

At the least, you could simply watch the video with G force overlay, and stop the video at the times you want to record the G-force.
  • If you have the NMEA data, is it hard to calculate speed and G-force using a spreadsheet program?
  • It's hard. But you can re-import an NMEA file in RaceChrono for Android. First copy the file to /Android/data/com.racechrono(.app|.pro)/files/input/ . Then enable Settings > Expert settings > Experimental devices. Then add GPS device with type "NMEA input", and select the file you've just copied.
  • edited November 2018
    Thank you. On my device, it's called, "NMEA file (for debug)" .