GoPro 4 and 5 Differences aside of resolution

Dear All, is there any difference between applications/capabilities between GoPro 4 and 5 (except resolution, of course) together with Racechrono Pro and Garmin Glo ? Thanks in advance for your answers!

Comments

• Well, I'm not really an expert on the topic, but I have both GoPro 4 Black and GoPro 5 Black, and the obvious difference is that 5 has a display and much better user interface. GoPro 5 Black also has a build-in GPS and sensors. Notice the GPS cannot be used in RaceChrono as a "live" GPS, but in future you will be able to import the data embedded to the videos recorded with it.

If you're talking the difference between GoPro 4 Session and 5 Session, then the most notable difference is that 5 Session crashes a lot less than the 4 Session :)
  • Currently I'm using a cheap SJ400 but would like to change to a GoPro for an easier synchronization with Racechrono Pro. I don't want to spent much money on it so I am also interested in older/used models.
    I understood that the session 4 might not be a good idea for stability reasons. Are there other recommendations, which models should be preferred or better be avoided?
  • I'd buy the GoPro 5 Black, 6 Black or 7 Black. It has a GPS, and while it's not a very good GPS nor can it be connected "live", the metadata it produces to the video can be used for easier sync in upcoming versions of RaceChrono.
  • edited January 2019
    Personally, I do not like GoPro 6 Black and 7 Black because GP avoid Narrow FOV and use some kind of Digital-Zoom-In instead. Wich resets to zero, when you turn off/on the camera. I prefer Narrow FOV very much - in this configuration the road "seeing by eyes" fits perfect to the road, which you see after at the "big screen". But it is only very personal IMHO. :smile: