"No fix to satellities" Issue on Qstarz BT-Q1000eX 10hz

Need help right away because I have race in next two days. I get the No Fix to Satellites error and have tried everything I have read (I even bought a brand new unit, as I have been using Qstarz and Qracing for last 2 years). I have Samsung Galaxy S6 and latest version of RaceChrono Pro v4.1.5 I have tried turning on and off the Bluetooth Fix in expert settings. Qstarz device is picking up satellites because the orange satellite icon is flashing. Background info: 1) devices pair, 2) in setup - external GPS is selected & Qstarz 1000ex is device & Use for Recording is checked, 3) Bluetooth is connecting, 4) I am getting same issue on my older Samsung Galaxy S4

Please advise.

Comments

• OK. Please do following:

1) Enable "RaceChrono > Expert settings > Save device output"
    2) Record one session with the GPS. Make sure the GPS seems to get proper lock to satellites (by looking at the LEDs).
    3) Go to /RaceChrono/session_(date)_(time)/ folder on your phone. There should be device_x_output.nmea file.
    4) Send the output file to tracks(at)racechrono.com

I will take a look.
  • Thanks for fast response. File sent to email as requested.
  • edited June 2015
    Problem is that the GPS is only outputting RMC sentence. RaceChrono needs a combination of at least RMC and GGA. MTK-II chipset (and most others too) has had RMC/GGA/GSV/GSA enabled as default in the past. I wonder if you are using some other GPS software that configures it? Can you list the other apps you use with this GPS if any?

Maybe it's time to re-enable my automatic MTK-II reconfiguration code... It was disabled due to some bluetooth problems, but maybe it could be enabled only when there's missing sentences.