Lateral acceleration on a motorcycle with RaceBox Mini fix

Hello.

I've done a bit of testing with the latest RaceChrono Pro version (8.0.8) on a motorcycle where the data is collected from the IMU of the RaceBox and everything looks accurate except for the lateral acceleration figures.

The matter is, while longitude acceleration is quite accurate when it's obtained from the RaceBox itself, the lateral acceleration from the RaceBox cannot reflect the true value due to the specifics of how motorcycles turn. In the previous versions of RaceChrono Pro where lateral acceleration was calculated based on GPS data, it was much closer to be accurate.

While I am not an expert, I can tell that my lateral acceleration never exceeded 0.2G in the new RaceChrono Pro version no matter how fast I negotiated turns and how much I leaned the motorcycle. That includes leaning my motorcycle up to 44 degrees, it was still showing no higher than 0.2G which can't be true. In the older version with data calculated based on GPS input, it used to reach 0.6-0.7 on a regular basis and sometimes even higher, while riding in the twisties.

While searching the internet on motorcycle data acquisition, I found this quote at https://www.datamc.org/data-acquisition/g-forces-and-acceleration/ , which sheds some light on potential reason for the false reading on the motorcycles: "...In this section we will discuss both longitudinal acceleration (which includes braking) and lateral (side-to-side) acceleration.

The use of a GPS-based system is imperative if lateral acceleration is to be considered. A non-GPS-based system is incapable of providing lateral acceleration data without some very elaborate and expensive equipment."